FATHER | SON | HOLY SPIRIT

Home » Bastazo Publishing » Yom Kippur: An easy fast?

Yom Kippur: An easy fast?

Did you celebrate Yom Kippur? During this past day several friends wrote notes on Facebook wishing us all an “easy fast.” I’ve heard this wish from friends so many times in the past, but for the first time it hit me, “The fast should not be easy!” Doesn’t that defeat the purpose of fasting? I don’t enjoy fasting. I don’t enjoy pain. But the Torah also describes fasting as “afflicting our souls.” Isn’t the purpose of fasting to confront our flesh and make it clear that it (our flesh) will not run our life. Aren’t we telling our flesh that our spirit (connected to God’s Spirit) will run our life instead. Please give this a little thougth and tell me what you think.Image

